Rolling Down Taft

On a hot summer day at around 11 o’clock, I decide to go for a little ride. My normal route would be from Thompson Valley to Bill Reed then to the Fairgrounds and then back home. The route was almost an everyday thing, I knew exactly where to ride in the road and back onto the sidewalk weaving back and forth for fun. I was about halfway to Bill Reed from Thompson Valley when one of my friends called and wanted to hang out, we meet at Loveland High.

After hanging out for hours, I notice a beautiful sunset. Orange skies,  purple and pink clouds. That’s when I realized I needed to get home before it was too dark to ride. I’m on my way home, pushing as fast as I can worried that I’m gonna be late.  I hit the light on Taft and 8th st. green, i’m not slowing down. As I’m going down Taft hill I start to drag my foot and try to slow down. Instead my wheel hits a skateboarders worst nightmare, a pebble.

All of a sudden, it seems like everything is in slow motion. My board goes completely 90 degrees and sends my flying.  First to hit the ground was my hands. Then start skidding on my left arm, scrapping from my elbow to my shoulder. Ends up rolling me onto my face ripping skin off from my eyebrow to my cheek bone, and a bloody nose.

That was one of the most painful experiences I’ve had. It’s past dark at this point, I try to call my dad and my phone is dead. While I’m walking home I tried stopping 2 cars for help, both drove away in panicked. It took me around 30 more minutes to get home walking with a limp and a concussion.

Narrative

Word Count: 300

Leave a comment